Lightscribe Problems (LG GSA-H55L)

vbimport

[qanda]This thread is about the LG GSA-H55L. Click here to see full specs[/qanda]Hello! I’m a noob ,so please bear with me. I’m so steamed about this burner as this is my first and it turned into a freaking nightmare.
This thing will not lightscribe. It goes through the motions showing printing(scribing)progress bar but once it finishes an hour later it pop out the tray I flip it over and big all NADA! I tried several days different programs updating lightscribe yadda yadda! I finally contacted the seller who referred me to the tech support. This was when I realized I was totally screwed. I told him the model and that it wouldn’t lightscribe. He asked me what was lightscribe???:eek:

I explained it to him what the dang thing his company was selling. He told me all I had to do was update the firmware. I told him that I couldn’t because it was a external usb. I had tried from LG’S downloads and it stated FW mismatch.
I hung up and resolved to try and solve it myself. It stated if I opened the burner cover the warranty would be void so I did anyway and hooked it up to a cable via another computer. Updated Firmware to 1.05 like a charm.

Tried burning another label same bullcrap. I don’t get it this thing will burn dvd’s no problem but as soon as I put it upside down for a label it does what it does and nothing on the label. The burner light doesn’t flash during the label burn, but does during a dvd burn.

I contacted LG and all they could offer me was that it was probably the medias fault. I used Verbatim lighscribe 16x Dvd +r.

Can this really be a factor? Or is it just passing the buck?

In meantime, I just got so fed up of this useless piece of crap that I went out and bought a HP DVD 1040. What a dream compared to the LG!!

I still want to try to fix the LG and possibly sell it to someone at least to burn dvds.
Any suggestions from you the experts :bow: what the problem could be???