Liggy & Dee Firmware Column Headings

vbimport

In Liggy & Dee’s Firmware upgrades for the 3530A; the original NEC firmware 3.01 has three columns with “download” in each of them; Orig, Fast, RPC1. Is it necessary to download and flash all three? What is the distinction between these columns? I have the same question about Liggy’s bitsetting update as it has same columns too. I’m sure all of you that have “flashed” firmware are familiar with this but I’m a rookie! Thanks.

LarryAllen, welcome to the forum!

The three columns are there in order for you to have a choice about which modifications you are interested in.

The “original” versions don’t include the riplock patch or the RPC1 patch.
The “fast” versions include the riplock patch but not the RPC1 patch.
The “RPC1” versions include both the riplock patch and the RPC1 patch.

The riplock patch (fast and RPC1 version) makes your drive read pressed DVD Video discs faster. This is good when you want to copy (a.k.a. “rip”) your DVD, but it’s annoying when you only want to play and watch a DVD Video.

The RPC1 patch makes your drive “region free”. This means that the drive will no longer be locked to playing DVD Video discs from only a single region such as e.g. Region 1 (North America) or Region 2 (most of Europe). You will still need software to make use of this, because many programs include their own region control if the drive supports RPC1 (region free) instead of RPC1 (region locked).