LG GSA-H22N and Verbatim 5X DVD-RAM discs

I am new to DVD-RAM and the LG GSA-H22N is my first DVD-RAM capable drive. I bought a 5-pack of Verbatim 5X DVD-RAM discs here in the USA from a Microcenter retail store for $9.99 . The media code is M01J5006–as I understand it, these discs are rebadged Panasonic 5X DVD-RAM discs. The Maxell 5X DVD-RAM disc is the only other 5X DVD-RAM disc I can find, and it is $6.68 per disc! Anyway, I am thinking that I may have to return the Verbatim discs and purchase the overpriced Maxell discs. Here is my problem: the Verbatim discs only write at 2X! This is according to Nero CD-DVD Speed version 4.7.0.0 . I have Nero 6.6.0.18 and updated the Nero CD-DVD Speed software that came with my older version of Nero. The software indicates the drive writes to these DVD-RAM discs @ 2X. I did this test in Windows XP. The other test of the media I did was in Windows Vista RC1. I formatted the disc with a UDF filesystem and then wrote a 4.12 GB file. Since it took about 30 minutes, it was obvious that this was also a 2X write. So, my question is this: what is wrong here? Should I wait for a firmware update? I am using firmware version 1.00. Do I need to update my software? Or should I go for the expensive Maxell 5X DVD-RAM disc used in the review of this drive on this website? Unfortunately, 12X DVD-RAM media is not available in the USA, so that is not an option. I do not want primitive 2X writing, that is for sure. I know the drive seems to work fine, as I have already burned a Verbatim 16x DVD-R @ 18X in 5:05 and read it back @16X in my new LG DVD burner.