LG GSA-4163BI/ Bitsetting

vbimport

My main question is wether or not the LG GSA-4163BI supports bitsetting or changing the booktype if these two items are one in the same. I beleive I saw one review on Newegg.com that said it did, but I can’t find it now because there were about 60 reviews. I contacted LG and a guy told me that their drives don’t support, but he did not sound to sure.

For the past three days I have been looking strongly at this drive and one of the BenQ’s 1620 or 25 and 1640. I currently own a Sony DRU-530A about 14 months old. I am just learning about the bitsetting deal and realized my Sony does not support it. So, I am looking for reliable dual layer drive, moderately priced- my reason for the LG- support for bitsetting preferrably out of the box , and will accept a wide range of media brands. If the LG meets this let me know. I plan to put this one in an enclosure to make it external.

I am open to suggestions. So, please guys and gals all personal preferences aside, just the facts. :slight_smile:

Bitsetting works just fine for me with the 4163B, fw A105.

Thanks 2D. Now, I ask. What is your personal take on this drive. I will be making a purchase decision within the week.

I have looking at buying this drive as well.
I think the only prob is that you cant bitset +RW to ROM.
Normal +R to -ROM should be fine.

Full Review at top of LG forum gives the low-down.

Thanks Roos, That’s cool. All of my final stuff I have been putting on +R. Thank goodness because I have almost a whole spindle worth. :slight_smile: