LG GSA-4163B DOESN'T WRITE AT 16x

Hello folks,

Before I write this message, I made a search and couldn’t find any answers about my problem. That’s why I am looking for your opinions.

I am not a newbie, so I’ll give enough info about this situation. My LG GSA-4163B DVD writer has never written any DVD faster than 4x up today. But I always blamed the cheap DVD media about this problem. Never suspect the dvd writer. :slight_smile: Yesterday I finished my rubbish dvd medias, and buy a pack of Memorex DVD-R (100 dvd). These are brand new medias and support up to 16x write. When I come home and tried, I faced the same again that bloody 4x limitation.

So I made a little research and find DVD Identifier software then identify these media as CMC MAG. AM3.

Unique Disc Identifier : [DVD-R:CMC MAG. AM3]

Disc & Book Type : [DVD-R] - [DVD-R]
Manufacturer Name : [CMC Magnetics Corp.]
Manufacturer ID : [CMC MAG. AM3]
Blank Disc Capacity : [2,298,496 Sectors = 4.71 GB (4.38 GiB)]

** INFO : Hex Dump Of ‘Media Code’-Block Listed Below
** INFO : 4-Byte Header Preceding ‘Media Code’-Block Discarded
** INFO : Format 0Eh - Pre-Recorded Information In Lead-In
0000 : 01 40 c1 fd 9e d8 52 00 02 84 0d 12 98 99 90 00 .@…R…
0010 : 03 43 4d 43 20 4d 41 00 04 47 2e 20 41 4d 33 00 .CMC MA…G. AM3.
0020 : 05 88 80 00 00 00 02 00 06 09 0d 14 98 88 90 00 …
0030 : 07 88 80 00 00 00 00 00 08 07 17 0a 0e 09 04 00 …
0040 : 09 95 07 0d 0b 88 88 00 0a 80 00 00 00 00 10 00 …
0050 : 0b 06 17 15 b8 99 85 00 0c b8 9a 32 03 20 32 00 …2. 2.
0060 : 0d 00 00 d0 00 00 00 00 …

[ DVD Identifier V5.0.1 - http://DVD.Identifier.CDfreaks.com ]

And to wipe the questions out of my mind about dvd writer’s firmware version, I upgraded to ver. 106 (the latest). Later on I find another software named MediaCodeSpeedEdit. This was a very useful software that you can have a look at a list that which media with what speed will be used after using that firmware version.