Lg GSA-4163B does not burn memorex dvd+r 16x correctly

[qanda]This thread is about the LG GSA-4163B. Click here to see full specs[/qanda]Dear All,

Hello. I have been using sidux for about 3 years now and have not had a problem writing to a dvd+r or any disc until the past month. My lg gsa writes fine to the memorex dvd+rw but not onto the memorex dvd+r 16x disc. I have been researching this for a few days and it seems like I may need to update the firmware. I only have linux on this machine and found all of the downloads and instructions using binflash and /or dvrflash. I have read that others have flashed my same model using binflash.

I unpacked both binflash and dvrflash. Neither one can find a supported device! I am surprised. Is there another way to flash if using linux only? Is using wine a possibility?

I am almost thoroughly convinced I need to upgrade the firmware. It has not been updated since I owned it and I have the 106a firmware downloaded from firmwarehq site.

Any suggestions or help are welcome.

Thank you very much,

Marcia

Hi and Welcome!

That LG likes to be fed with Verbatim DVD+R instead of the Memowrecks you are using at the moment. :wink:

Unfortunately, the only option to flash a LG drive is using a Windows application. I have no idea if WINE is an option here. Bet way would be a friend who is running a Windows computer, where you can temporarily install the drive in order to flash the newer firmware.

Binflash and Dvrflash are for NEC/Optiarc or Pioneer drives respectively. They are of no use with other drives.

Michael

Welcome to the forum, Marcia :slight_smile:

I had the same drive myself, and was under the impression that A106 was the last firmware for it - have you found something newer?

It sounds like the MID (aka media code) of these Memorex DVD+Rs isn’t supported in the firmware…but if there isn’t anything newer than A106, then flashing the drive’s firmware under Linux won’t be required anyway. :wink: