LG GSA-4120B sometimes burns at 6x in stead of 8x

vbimport

I’ve been using my LG GSA-4120B for about 9 months now and like it a lot.
I’ve tried several media throughout this time and quickly “standardized” on Datawrite x8 DVD+R Prodisc-R03-03.
I’ve burned (8x) almost 6 spindels (25 cakebox) of these, always do a verify, none of them ever failed or showed any strange behaviour during the verify read back.

This week, I noticed the burner didn’t accelerate any further after starting with 6x. Burn was fine though. I’ve tried a few more and it appears that 1 out of 3 now burns at 6x, the others at the normal 8x.

I’m using the official A115 firmware. Nothing changed in the hardware, OS or software setup.

In total I’ve burned about 250 DVD’s with it, and about 20 CD-R’s
Is my LG dying ? What’s the expected lifetime of such a writer ?
Could it be a fluke, so this last spindle is less quality and the writer decides to stick to 6x ?
I’ve ordered some Platinum DVD+R 8x (RICOHJPNR02) that also gave me no problems in the past, to see if they still burn at 12x or stay at 6x or 8x

Any ideas ?

Perhaps you have 2 kind of different media in the same spindle, it happened to me once, and that could explain the diferent performance

I wouldn’t worry if I were you, probably you just got a lower quality spindle

Nope, same mediacode throughout.

Got the Platinum DVD+R 8x (RICOHJPNR02) yesterday.
First one went fine, started at 6x, then 8x and ended at 12x.
But next one, the burner stayed at 6x speed all the time.

Looks like its dying on me, only after about 250 discs or so :confused:

MAybe it does some sort of quality check and reduces the writing speed accroding media quality.

Same thing happened to my LG 4163 today, with a TYG02 8x dvd-r. I think in my case, it was because my hd was too busy (I forgot to switch off another application with heavy disc acceess). The burn was excellent.