LG 8480B Help Please?

Hi Guys,
I just wondering if someone out there might be kind enough to explain and answer the following questions please?

1: I am kind of new to copying and burning CD’s. I understand the basic principals of this and I have a few programs as well. But what I would like to know is what is Mt. Rainier? If someone could please explain this to me in basic terms and not fancy lingo I would greatly appreciate it. After all I am only a girl :).

2: Also does anyone know what version of SD2 this drive can copy up to? Like will it do 2.8 or whatever the latest version is?

3: Will it also copy secure rom ( I think thats how you spell it) disks as well?

4: Also is there much difference in features other than speed over this drive and the 8400B or are both the drives exactly the same other than the speed differences?

I probably have more questions later on but if someone could please help me with these few I would greatly appreciate it.

Regards
Erica

Hi Erica :wink:

1: Mt. Rainier is a new kind of format which uses CD-RW discs and its supposed to replace the floppy disks. A Mt. Rainier capable drive can format a CD-RW disc in background and it can be used just like a floppy disk.

2: Yes, it will make backups from SafeDisc 2.8 protected titles. All you have to use it’s the latest Alcohol 120% software.

3: You can use the new BlindWrite 4.2.1 suite to make backups of SecuROM 4.8x protected software. Or you can use Twinpeaks (thanx Blackcheck).

4: the 8480B drive is somewhat different as we can’t upgrade a 8400B to a 8480B drive. But I think the 8400B is alot better.

Hi,

I’ve got both drives (a 8480B and a 8400B (originally 8320B)) in the same machine and can tell you the 8480B is MUCH better, in everything. Writes and reads faster, seeks faster, has much better media compatibility, uses real UDMA, is Mt Rainer compatible … and is real MPCIII compliant, so that software like
drive image DOES see it, unlike the 8400B.

Regards
FTC

Hi vio_man,