Lets do a knowledge thread?

vbimport

Just being curious what everyone's experience in the PC world is.

I would like to get to know the level off experience off the members @ cd-freaks.
Please do not show off with Certificates (you can state them though :wink: ), just tell how long you've been working with PC's and building up your knowledge.

My experience:

I've been working with computers since i was 7 (33 now)
My first PC was an Exidy Sorceror with 16k internal memory and no HD or disc drives, only a Keyboard attached to a TV and Basic as programming language :P.
Over the years i made myself an expert on DOS and windows.
By hardware trouble-shooting i also build up lots off knowledge about motherboards, add-on cards,drivers, firmware, jumper, etc....

I always loved tinkering with my system and tried to make it run as smoothly as possible.

Not that is matters, but I have a bachelor degree in IT (got it in '96) and work as Oracle Developer.

So post your reply and let the games begin :wink: :cool:

System:

Windows XP Professional + SP1
Abit-BX6 motherboard
PIII 952 MHz CPU
352 MB SDRAM PC-100
20 GB and 40 GB maxtor hard-drives
19" Medion CRT Monitor
ASUS GeForce 4 Ti4200 with 128 mb RAM (9280s/TVD) 8x (running on 2x)
Trust 5.1 sound card
Plextor 24/10/48 IDE CD-RW
TEAC 55s SCSI burner 4x (still the best @ copying protected audio cd's)
Samsung DVD player 16 x
2 Network cards (3com and leadtek)
Tekram SCSI card
Zip 250MB drive usb

(Lite-on Burner (LDW401@LDW411) is in my wifes PC :wink: , no room in mine any more :stuck_out_tongue: )

Timeline :

Around the age of 5 : Pong console
Around the age of 9 : Zx Spectrum
Around the age of 14 : 286 , VGA
Around the age of 15 : My own 386 , My own BBS

After that -> my own 486 -> 486DX2 133MHz -> Soundblaster -> Better modem -> AMD Athlon 1400 + 1.5GB RAM -> Now

Now :

Amd Athlon 2600+
1.5 GB ram
MSI K7N NForce 2 motherboard
2 x 40 + 1 x 80 + 1 x 73GB disk space

Things I remember: