Legacy JVC vs CMC Pro - any test differences?

Hi,
took something like 10 years of posting break :smile:

Has anyone tested the new-fangled CMC Pro TY replacements against JVC branded legacy TY?
I can’t find any test on this subject, only opinions based on previous experiences with CMC (bad).
Some mentions 30% failure rate in most recent batch (posts from early 2017), others have gone through 500 with no duds.

My point is, if there’s any sense in getting legacy JVC’s at inflated prices, or the CMCs are the same level of good compared to them.

Thanks for any input on this subject,
PS: My interest lies mainly in DVD-R and +R, for CDs, I’d be more likely migrating to Verbatim Silver Top SuperAZO (hopefully still made by Moser Baer in India)

Anyone?

I have no experience with CMC Pro TY as I can not find any to buy. I can still find JVC TY, but I am not sure if I will buy them again, as they are more pricey and I am not sure if they are any better than Verbatim.

Many new JVC already have CMC recording dye on them. TBM lists JVC TY, but in reality those are CMC Pro in different packaging.
The problem with legacy JVC is also limited selection of printable/non-printable surfaces. It seems that only thermal printable is available.

I am talking about genuine JVC TY, labeled made in Japan. They are a little more expensive than Vebratim (last time I checked they were about 5 euro more expensive for 100 discs).

Based on my own testing, CMC Pro’s burning quality is not anywhere close to the authentic JVC TY.
I tried with multiple burners and the PI/PO are horrible!

Looks like Ritek is also joining the game of producing Taiyo Yuden licensed TY media.

Could you provide your test results and not just the conclusion?

Have you checked THIS thread?

Some more scans here and here.

Thanks! This looks useful.
I had similar results using JVC in the old days on those speeds.