Lead-in takes too long

vbimport

Anyone know why when I burn in nero sometimes it stays at lead-in for about 5-6 minutes but after that it burns fine at regular speed (little over 6 minutes at 12x). In Nero 6.6.0.8 I have bitsetting at current recorder setting. This happens about 60-70% of the time I burn, very annoying watching it at 0% for 5 minutes but the other 30-40% times the lead-in is fast. No Nvidia IDE drivers & its at UDMA2, master, 80 pin IDE chain w/ B7U9 firmware & TDK TY-02 media. Turned off autoplay via tweakui.

Admittedly, I’ve never used NERO to burn a DVD before, but I suspect NERO might be trying to bitset a -R disc — hence the delay.

Are you using -R or +R discs?

• Jie

I’m using -R & for bitsetting in Nero SpeedTest it’s grayed out. In the QScan it shows up as -R. Also for strange reason when I disable WOPC the lead-in delay only happens like 1 out of 10 times but I would prefer WOPC enabled.

If you’re using -R at present, try disabling bitsetting totally in Nero.

That might help. Then when you get +R, just re-enable it.

Cheers,

• Jie

strange…try doing a qscan…

yeah lead-in takes a a min with +R but +RW is instant.

I think lead in takes longer with B7U9 firmware. But it should never take that long. If you’re using B7U9 try switching back to B7T9 and see what happens.

BenQ has issues with the “power calibration” phase of lead-in for DVD media… I have personally witnessed BenQ do a 1 hour lead in @ 0% complete before I rebooted the computer (I fell asleep after starting the burn…)

I suspect the reason why your +RWs aren’t affected is because you can only burn them @ 4x max. When BenQ is asked to burn at high speed, the power calibration can become very sensitive.

What media are you using?

CMC and Verbatim all same time…Burning finished at 7 mins plus and lead-in take a min total around 9 mins.

Philips RW ok.

It was like this also when it came default, so I flashed to B7P9 still same, B7T9 still same, and B7U9 still same.