Lead-in bug & which firmware for 16x?

vbimport

I just bought an sohw-1633s and I am new to this particular forum. I have grown fond of Fuji 8x +r media (yuden000) and I would like to burn these in my lite-on at 16x just like I do in my NEC. I have omnipatcher, but I don’t know which firmware I should d/l. Also, I occasionally get a 4 minute delay in lead-in.

i cant even burn 16x media at 16x yet on this drive, liteon ur letting me down today

I went ahead and got the BS41 stock - unscrambled. Using omnipatcher, I clicked “apply recommended changes” and “Increase reading speed to 12x.” I haven’t flashed the firmware yet, as I’m looking to burn yuden000T02 discs at 16x. To do this, would I simply double-click the T02, then highlight the T03 in the new box and enter? I notice this is not a “recommended change” but if it makes coasters I’m rma’ing the lite-on for another NEC. I burn these fuji’s at 16x all the time there, with no coasters.

i don’t know if that strat swap will work.
try it but i don’t think there are many strats for 1633s that work well.
may i suggest you look at the reviews for the rebadged 1633s(memorex,sony)
find one of the 16x burns that seems to work and use that strat for the swap.
if all else fails t03 may work it is hit and miss with this burner,if i had known
this burner was this problamatic a benq would be sitting in it’s place.
maybe a quality patch for these units would save jvc/liteon’s reputation??

t02 isn’t meant to be written @16x. modifying the firmware with omnipatcher and flashing it voids warranty, so u can’t rma the drive.

I think I understand…fuji/ty t02’s: 16x + lite-on = no workie 16x+ NEC = sweet! Score one for NEC. These discs are on sale at Best Buy for us$40 per 100 spindle. Is it possible they are t03’s but kprobe identifies them wrong? Nah the first answer is probably right. @choko: I’ll just flash back to stock :wink: I’m not giving up yet. I’m a newegger, so I have time.