Laptop vs desktop drives: why not the same?

Hi all,

seeing as I have little experience with laptop drives (only 2 so far), I would like to see if I’ve got this right:

Are laptop drives just “weaker” than their desktop counterparts?

Obviously laptop drives tend to be generally slower than desktop ones, but what I’m also seeing is that my laptop drives are also a lot more sensitive to scratched disks and a lot more picky about good and bad quality media when it comes to recording on them.

I recently bought an Optiarc AD-7630A to replace my TSST TS-L532B for my laptop.
The TSST could never go above 6x recording on any of the media I’d tried, and it had a history of burning a substantial amount of non-premium quality discs.
I hoped these issues would be resolved with a newly introduced model such as this Optiarc, but to no avail. On the same discs, the NEC writes at pretty much the same speed - starting at 2x, going on to 4x and then to 6x, only reaching 8x at about 90%.
On the contrary, the very same discs fare much better on two desktop drives I’ve tried them on, an LG and a TSST - both drives starting at 4x, then moving on to 8x at about 20%.

So I would like to ask whether this is indeed an established behaviour of all laptop drives, i.e. to be much pickier and slower than their desktop counterparts on the same media?

Or have I just had the bad luck to hit two ‘bad’ drives out of two? :confused:

I have a laptop drive and i haven’t had to replace it yet but i don’t use it that much.

I’m going to guess heat has a lot to do with it. They are newer that desktop drives. Mine rarely gets above 6X also.

Laptop drives cannot burn faster on dvd than 8x.

Desktop drives are always faster.

It might have something to do with power consumption too. Spinning a disk at 16X speeds verses 8X or lower takes a good bit more energy thus draining the battery faster. Although I don’t know why someone would burn CDs or DVDs on battery power.