Kubuntu

vbimport

I’m so new with linux, so don’t be harsh on me if I ask “stupid” questions.

I’ve tried to install different distributions of linux on my computer, but with no succes. Recently I tried to install linux peanut and Immunix. Everything went fine till I needed to give my login name and password, cause after I had done that I got stuck in a sort of dos-mode. I have no Idea what so ever to do from that dos-mode.
Could someone help me? Where did I go wrong, or what should I type in the command line to go to a graphical user interface where I can just work with my mouse . . .

and . .

Could someone please explain to me, the difference between the kubuntu Desktop Edition and the kubuntu Alternate Edition, or do I need both of them to work?

Thanks in advance, and please keep in mind, I’m completely new with linux, I have no Idea what to do . . .

:confused:

Try “startx” after login.

Forget those two distibutions you mentioned though. As a beginner better install Kubuntu - Desktop sounds like the right choice (should be easy to search or google what the Alternate stands for - I don’t know).

Alright, thanks for the reply Cressida, by the way, I did try the startx command in the command line for the peanut and Immunix version, but I constantly got an error, something about my graphic configuration or so.

Anyway I’ll try the Kubuntu version, hope that, that one will do the trick . . .

Thanks again . . .

[B]By the way,
is it normal for the Kubuntu software to fit on just 1 CD-R ???[/B]

Hi :slight_smile:
This looks promising from your point of view.
[B]Unbuntu:[/B]

Thanks, I’ll dig into it.

:smiley:

[I]By the way,
is it normal for the Kubuntu software to fit on just 1 CD-R ???[/I]

Hi :slight_smile:
Most home editions seem to be around 690MBs. So yes a single CDR should be adequate.
BTW differences between the two:

Desktop CD: