Kprobe/CDSpeed with my 3 DVD readers: which Firmwares do I use?

Hi. I am a newbie who has just bought 2 recorders:
The NEC 2510A, and the Pioneer 107D.

I am going to burn my first discs, and then I will scan them to test the burn quality. As normal, I will use KProbe, and Nero cd-speed.

I have 3 DVD readers.
I want to know if the firmwares in my DVD readers are ok. I would prefer to keep the original fws. I don’t like flashing complexities unless necessary.

These are my readers:

1. LiteOnLTD163D with fw GHR3
  2. Sony DDU1612 with fw DYS3
  3. Sony DDU1621 with fw S3.5

all the firmwares are the original from factory.
I guess the Sonys are really LiteOn OEMs, so they will run KPROBE without problems, isn’t it?

My recorders are:
-Pio 107D with fw 1.05 and OEM kernel. (I will upgrade it eventually)
-NEC 2510A with fw 2.15

I guess these won’t work with Kprobe. But they will work with CD-Speed, isn’t it?

It seems that 1612 is a Lite-on 166s and 1621 is a Lite-On CD-Writer LTR-24102B. (Am I right?)

Clearly 166s is the choice here. It may give you some guideline but I’m not so serious with Kprobe especially when it is from non-writers. Probably observing the readback curve in Nero CDSpeed is good enough.

There’s a lot of threads on Kprobe with writers and readers, maybe worth reading those.

the 1612 is a Lite-On 166S, yes
the 1621 is a reader: a BTC BDV-316B

here is the source:
http://forum.firmware-flash.com/dl_firmware.php?category=1&manufactor=30

is the BTC compatible with KProbe?
mmmh, it is not, according to these:

http://www.google.es/search?q=cache:44xeFQx4nCQJ:club.cdfreaks.com/lite/t-94702.html+kprobe+BTC+BDV-316B+&hl=es

http://www.google.es/search?q=cache:1EMN7ro5ZeYJ:club.cdfreaks.com/lite/t-96819.html+kprobe+BTC+BDV-316B+&hl=es

yes, I will check the Kprobe threads, thanks :slight_smile: