Keep getting 'Found New Hardware' message with new DVD drive

Hi guys,

First time posting here, hope someone can help. I’m not a newbie when it comes to computers but this issue has me wondering what the heck is going on.

I was refered here by NEC since I purchased a OEM drive from them and it has no warrenty. Well, actually, I got it from Newegg…who cares? :slight_smile:

Oh, I’m not posting this in the NEC sub forum because I’m convienced it’s not a NEC specific problem – I’d probaly have this with ANY DVD drive. I think it’s more of a Windows interacting with the DVD drive problem, and not sure where else to turn for help (since Windows XP and everything else on this computer was bought at NewEgg…)

Allright…I’m running Windows XP and purchased a NEC ND-3520A DVD burner. Installed it just fine, with no problems. Even made sure that the cable connecting it to the motherboard is the ONLY drive hooked up to it and that it’s set to the Master position.

The drive WORKS fine – plays games, burns movies, makes music CD’s, etc…it’s just that EVERY SINGLE TIME I boot Windows up I keep getting that damn annoying ‘Found New Hardware’ screen. If I try to click OK to install it correctly, it says it can’t be done. If I hit cancel, it says the device may not be working properly and there IS a X on it at the Windows Manager.

Not only would I like to fix this so that I stop getting that annoying message every time I boot up, but I’m also convienced it messed up my virtual drive…I bought the GameDrive program last year to make copies of my CD games so they would run faster, and since I installed the drive I’ve ‘lost’ the letter of my virtual drive and can’t use it! So I’d really like to get the NEC drive working ‘correctly’ to see if that fixes the problem.