JVC/TY Ceramic or Premium Grade?

vbimport

I am thinking to buy some JVC/TY DVD+R 16x media while they are still available and I am trying to decide between Ceramic (white) spindles of 50 and Premium Grade (Gold) spindles of 100. I know that both are YUDEN000T03 but does anyone know if there is a difference in quality?

In theory there should be no difference in quality based on the top surface but rather will be due to typical batch variation.

Sent from my SM-G935U using Tapatalk

I have little experience with TY media but I tried some DVD-R and I was not really impressed with the quality scans. What should I expect from DVD+R?

Maybe scans like you see from 2012 onward: http://club.myce.com/f76/taiyo-yuden-dvd-r-75920/index16.html

You see a lot of variance, but ultimately they’re OK. Not as pristine as some of the old stock, but still very acceptable scans.

…That said, you probably won’t see scans better than that. I think Verbatim media is as variable. Maybe FTI’s media (whether it be Verbatim media made by FTI, or other brands using FTI’s discs) will scan better, if you care only about the scans being pristine.

The only FTI I have seen are Verbatim DVD-R 16x printable media and I generally avoid DVD-R as they usually don’t scan as good as DVD+R.

They also do DVD+R, but if you can’t find them, it’s not worth it.

[QUOTE=Albert;2783443]They also do DVD+R, but if you can’t find them, it’s not worth it.[/QUOTE]

Should I expect Verbatim DVD-R made in UAE to be any better than media made in Taiwan?

I buy from the local Verbatim distributor and can choose country of manufacture if in stock and also return them if needed.

I will have to mail order JVC/TY media from overseas and they will be more expensive and difficult to return.

I am not sure if I should bother with JVC/TY or stick to Verbatim.

[QUOTE=kyrcy;2783508]Should I expect Verbatim DVD-R made in UAE to be any better than media made in Taiwan?[/QUOTE]

Generally, yes.