Just got the nec 3520- very slow burn.. complete novice

vbimport

i’ve been trying to read as many threads as possible on the subject, but i don’t really know what to do still. i just got the nec 3520a today. i tried burning a copy of a football game … and it ran at 2.4x or something like that.

i was using 8x dvd+r from ridata… and i use a laptop… so i have an external enclosure. are there step by step instructions somewhere out there that i am just missing? any help would be appreciated… if this is the best i can get…i might as well have just kept using the burner attached to my laptop.

thanks.

Do your Laptop support USB 2.0 or Firewire.

USB 1.1 is not fast enough. Burnspeed 2.4 seems to be USB 1.1

no it’s usb 2.0. i checked my hardware to be sure.

i have the vaio pcg-grt170

Can you burn a cd-r at 48x.

What’s the mid code of the Ridata 8x.

Enclosure type.

enclosure… this is it http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&category=3757&item=5155351362

i haven’t burned a cd-r yet. i don’t have any available on me. mid code on the dvd+r is C5-02CH1410169171B16

I just got a 3520 too.
Hope they release a decent firmware upgrade soon.
Son’t read discs above 14x and burns from the Hard disc are slow too :frowning:
See here too…

i don’t have nero yet… so i can’t show you my speeds… but it’s much slower than yours. it’s writing as fast as my laptop preinstalled dvd-rw… which reads at a max of 4x for dvd+r… but really reads at 2.4x

make sure dma is enabled

No DMA at external enclosure.

You can download cd-dvdspeed from here www.cdspeed2000.com

Burst rate is interesting.

Use http://dvdidentifier.cdfreaks.com for mid code.

ad said it supported dma…guess ya can’t believe everything you read

how do you enable dma?

You can’t enable DMA on a external enclosure.

How to enable DMA http://club.cdfreaks.com/showthread.php?t=101616

Remember to check harddisk DMA. If DMA not enabled at harddisk you will get slow burns.