Jumpy movies

I am fairly new to copying DVDs and am using CloneDVD and AnyDVD. The first dozen or so were fine, but the last few have been getting jumpy. The last couple have been totally unwatchable. Has anyone experienced this before?

This is normally down to bad media, or unsupported media with your writer.

What media are you using and in which reader/writer?

Also what are you trying to backup? we need a few more details about your system.

Hi. I started of using Princo DVD-R, and they were fine. Then I switched to Laser 'cos I could only get the Princo’s in a spindle of 50. The Lasers progressively got worse, so I tried Imation, which wouldn’t write at all. My burner is an MSI brand. I am copying DVD movies on a 2.7 MHz P4. Hope this helps a bit more.

Sounds like the other brands may be incompatible???

All of that media is terrible, sorry to say. Buy yourself some good media and you will be very happy with the results.

Good media include ritek G04/5 dyes
Verbatem (any)
Taiyo Yuden (any)
Datasafe (Fujifilm03)

My advise is get the best you can for the price you want to pay and the place you can easily get them from.

Incidiently what country do you live in?

I live in Australia. Thanks for the advice. I will keep an eye out for those brands. BTW Is TDK included in the list of good media?

Not sure about TDK, but I’ve used Ritek +R 4X exclusively so far and not had a problem.

Yeah TDK are good, should have no problems with them.

The best media is those that are supported fully by your writer. There is no point getting expensive media if it isn’t supported.

Hi All,

I’m a bit new to this game. I’ve recently been suffering the same jumping problems myself. I’ve been using Datawrite Classic 4x DVD-R’s (Yellow Label) in my NEC ND-1300A DVD writer & up until now I’ve had very few problems although friends who have tried my disks in their DVD players have suffered “jumpy bits” at the end of the disks.