Jerky video with Nero 7

Hi all, I’m a newbie with a question that I can’t seem to figure out on my own. I have Nero 7, and I want to burn MP2 movies to DVD format. I want to make clear that these are perfectly legal movies, okay? There’s a huge stash of legal public domain movies on www.archive.org – crazy, bizarre stuff, industrial training films from the thirties, and so forth. Never would I dream of doing anything illegal ;).

Anyway, here’s my problem. I tried burning one of these ancient movies to DVD using Nero, but some of the frames appear jerky. I wonder if there is something I need to adjust in the settings, but since I am so completely clueless when it comes to this stuff, I really don’t even know the questions to be asking. For all I know, this might be an inherent problem with the way the program translates from the MP2 format – I notice that there are many different “codecs” available on the web, and I gather that each one translates in a slightly different way.

The problem occurs whenever there is action in the frame – when a person walks or moves, for instance.

I’ve looked at the original mp2 files and do not see the problem there. But when I look at the burned DVD on my TV, and go through the program frame by frame, I notice that these “action” frames do not appear to be stable. These unstable frames appear to be the cause of the jerkiness.

Because I really don’t know any of the proper terminology, I’ll try to describe what I am seeing in these unstable frames. The moving parts of the images seem to “shimmer.” That is, it looks as though the conversion program tried to gather information from two adjacent frames in the original video, and so there’s a bit of a garble, and the image does not stay steady. Instead, you see bits and pieces of each image, and they seem to jump back and forth. Interestingly, the parts of the image that are repeated from one frame to the next remain entirely stable.