I've burnt around 40 DVDs and only 10 work

vbimport

I am a total newbie when it comes to dvd burning and I’ve been spending way too long on trying to sort it out so if someone could help me that would be great!!

Here is my problem:

I’ve burnt around 40 DVDs and only 10 work.

The others work perfectly until about an hour an 20 mins and then skip and stop.

I don’t really know what to do as I’ve tried every single dvd burning software and still nothing works better!!!

I tried to back up some dvds, the first 3 went fine but now the same problem appears!

Would anyone have any idea to help me?

thanks

Almost certainly a media problem. What type of dvd writer do you have and what type of blank dvds are you using?

Thanks for your quick reply!!!

I am using a brand new NEC burner 16* and some basic blank dvds (cheap)

Crappy media. Buy better quality media, get better results. Garbage in, garbage out!

So you reckon it’s because of these blank dvds I have these problems.

Could it come from somewhere else?

It’s 99% certian that it’s a media problem as has already been pointed out.

You need to state the exact model NEC (probably a 3520/3540) & the media ID of the blank DVD’s.

If you have Nero then CD/DVD Speed , using the disc info tab will give you this detail.
You’ll get Manufacturer & MID. Post back both & someone will tell you how good/bad these are.

It is undoubtedly a media problem. Had you posted on Videohelp, one or two of the members there would have launched into insane theories about overheating drives and quantum flux and shit like that, but the truth is that the “cheap media” is cheap for a reason.