Its all NERO's faullt... I think

vbimport

Hello everyone. I am a newbie to this website and certianly appreciate all the knowledge everone brings. I was hoping for some help with my problem.

I have a HP a1160n.

Hardware Information

CPU : AMD Athlon 64 Processor 3500+ 2190 MHz
Bus Speed : 199 MHz
Motherboard : MSI ALBACORE
System : HP PX769AA-ABA a1130n
BIOS : Phoenix 3.12
Memory : 1024 MB (129ns)
Sound : Realtek AC97 Audio
Video : ATI RADEON Xpress 200 Series

Drive Information

Drive : HL-DT-ST DVDRRW GWA-4166B
Type : DVD±R/RW DL Recorder
Firmware Version : 1823
Buffer Size : 2 MB

Since I recently installed NERO 6.6, nothing else seems to be working:

1. I cannot burn in iTunes - I kept getting errors 4261 and 4200 and now when I try to burn, the grey oval status bar blinks - “checking media” then times out.

2. Windows Media Player also stopped burning.

3. When I go click the configuration icon to try to play with settings, the program freezes.

4. I am however able to burn DVD and CD using Nero Express.

Any ideas on how to fix.

Thanks,
Zoltar

I experienced something similar with Nero. Nero itself worked fine, but it buggered any other burning apps I had, except DVDDecrypter. Since I didn’t care for Nero anyway, I got rid of it, problem solved.

Others will probably loudly and vehemently disagree with my next startement. :wink: Nero is bossy, it has its own ASPI layer. Do you have any other apps on your comp that require ASPI? ASPI already installed before Nero? You’ll probably have some conflicts, minor if v. 4.60, severe if v.4.71. Got Patin-Couffin installed too, so you can use DVD43 or some such? You’re screwed.

Look here: http://aspi.radified.com/

The above may help if you want to keep Nero. If not, use the NeroClean Tool to wipe away all traces and your machine should be okay. Drivers (and codecs! :eek: ) can be touchy, not things to be installed willy-nilly.

Good luck. :wink:

@ zoltar