Issue w/ The Prestige & Pan's Labyrinth

Hi all,

I’m new to cdfreaks and ripping/burning so bear with me here…

I’m trying to backup my copies of The Prestige and Pan’s Labyrinth. I’ve ripped each w/ Ripit4me, done some editing with VobBlanker, compressed with Shrink and burned with Nero. These discs will not play in my standalone player (a Panasonic, about 4 years old) but do play in my LG DVD_ROM drive as well as my BenQ 1655 (that they were burned with).

I used Sony branded YUDEN000-T02’s that were bitset to DVD-ROM. Then I tried CMC-made Verbatim MC004’s that also didn’t work. The only way I’ve been able to make a copy is by ripping to ISO and making a double-layer disc with Imgburn.

Any ideas on why the single-layer discs aren’t working? Is my standalone player really the issue? There weren’t any write errors, but there were some warnings and such with VobBlanker that I honestly don’t understand.

Thanks for reading

Why did you neeed to use vobblanker?
Ripit4me’s latest version has its own built in “cleaner”, and previous versions used Fixvts

He stated that he did some editing using Blanker Jamos…probably blanked the previews and/or unwanted extras…

What form of editing did you do on those files Futurehead? What did you blank?

I used VobBlanker to remove the ending credits so that I could reduce the amount of compression. I do this fairly often after ripping in Movie and Menu mode.

I tried these discs yesterday on a second standalone player (Panasonic, about 3 years old) and they didn’t work either.

So are you blanking the entire end-credits cell of the main movie?? …or… are you cutting the cell itself? If you blanked the entire end-credits cell, it should have no issues in your DVD players.
As for the warnings, they are usually fixed by Blanker.

BTW, have you tried it a friends player? Maybe it is those Panosonic brands, but being that they are only 3 and 4 years old, it should see those copied DVDs just fine.