.iso -vs- .avi

I’m fairly new to backing up my media. my question is, what’s the difference between .iso and .avi and which requires the least amount of space?

ISO is a container format and avi a video format …

i hate to sound stupid, but what does that mean? Am I in the wrong place to get answeres?

ISO is an image of a whole disc (CD or DVD). It contains all the information, sometimes very complicated, of the entire disc structure. The contents may be video of any type, or even programs, but it is not usually compressed.

AVI is also a container format - but only for an individual file rather than a whole disc. These days it’s more associated with compressed video made with XviD or DivX encoding.

As to which is the smallest… that depends on the material within these containers.

Avi is a container format for multimedia data (audio video interleave).
Iso is an image format that can contain any type of data, except audio CD’s and VCD disks.
There is no space advantage in using either one.

I have had a lot of experience with this in the past backing up my own DVD collection, I can say that I believe the easiest way to backup that type of media is with DVD Fab and download FLV media player. You don’t have to virtually mount any image to play your entire DVD collection from your HDD, you just double click!!! It’s awesome, and very easy/free to do.

And no… you are definitely not in the wrong place for answers, this is an awesome forum and I have learned so much from it! :slight_smile:

PS: I am still have trouble backing up my Audio-Book/CD collection using the same methods as I did backing up my DVD collection, I tried creating ISO images with the “Burn CD to Image” option in IMGburn, which worked, but it came with 2 or 3 sub-files for each Audio-Book that I ripped, plus some guys around the forum said that you cant create ISO’s of CD’s, only DVD’s and Data, so I’m not sure… but at least I can help with DVDs!

Off topic,
dual layer dvd wrote,