Is writing cd's in a row harmful?

vbimport

hey, i probably sound really ignorant, but as u can see im just starting out…
Someone told me that writing a lot of cd’s in a row can damage my CD-R… is it true? becuase if that’s the case i found the reason my CD-R is broken… and if not… well… never mind… :slight_smile:

The drive can get hot (heat is not good) if you burn alot of CD’s in a row. But you must burn an awful alot of CD’s then, or your case is very poorly ventilated.

How many did you do?
Once I did 15 something in a row and nothing strange happened.

i think i did something like 10 in a row…
and what happened after that u can see in another thread i posted in the forum named “writer writes blank cd’s”
dya think that’s the reason?

I’ve done about 300 in a row. Set nero too burn 300 copies and just keep swapping the cds :slight_smile: and no it didnt break my cdrw.

so may be my CD-R is lame…
how is the LG gce-8520b?
if not this, what’s the cause?!
:frowning:

Heat is relative. A well-cooled drive can write many discs, a poorly cooled one cannot… Most boxes are very poorly cooled, and drive temps can get excessive. The new high speed drives generate a lot more heat than even a 40x drive does, so that’s also a factor. My 52 drive can spin all day at 32x and never break a sweat, but at 52x it starts to ge a little hot.

so what dya recommend?
better ventilation for my case?
will it prevent my new CD-R from malfunctioning?

so what dya recommend?

It’s up to you. how much time are you willing to spend on it? I get a cheapo remote thermometer at Target and put the probe near the top of my case behind the CD drives to monitor the case temp. Some motherboards also have temp diodes on the board that can be monitored. (check your BIOS).