Is this scan any good?

vbimport

it’s the CMC media at circuit city for $4 this week… want to know if I should return it or keep it.

You can be satisfied, great scan. Low PIE and PIF also low jitter. Keep them.

4$ per… 25 pack?

If so, it looks very good at that price. But as a final quality check, make sure it burns fine for the last 300~400 MB. The error very often increases after 4GB.

yeah it’s $14 - 10 rebate for 25. its’ in this week’s circuit city flyer- under a dvd player I think - it’s a very small ad.

errors, even on free dvds are not worth the price you pay. I want to burn some media files off my HDs but if I do, I want the DVDs to be reliable! :smiley:

I’ll try burning some more to the end.
Thanks!

Since I’m new to this myself, here is my scan. Looks good, right?

You have an old version of NERO CD/DVD-Speed. Download the latest version and you scan time can go up to 16X.

In my opinion, your burn is about as close to perfect as you can get. If all of your burns are as clean as this one, then you have nothing at all to worry about.

Sorry about that…here’s the new scan of the SONY D11.

thanks guys, i wish I knew how to read these scans. do you just look at the # of errors or do the graphics tell you something too?

This is a little bit of a long read, but it’s a good starting point:
http://forum.cdfreaks.com/showthread.php?t=80545

Here’s how I read them:

Overview:

1. The top “PI Errors” graph (PIE for short) represents all of the DVD data errors as they are read from the DVD. These errors are shown before the first line of defense DVD “error correction” data has been applied to fix them. All DVD rom drives internally apply error correction information automatically, so Windows doesn’t know or care that it is happening.