Is this Burn Good Quality?

vbimport

i am a newbie when it comes to determing a good or really crap burn, so i was after your opinion on this burn … i updated to the latest Liggy and Dees firmware and got the following results:

are they any good?

why when i have such low Maximum PI Errors and PI Failures is it only 90% quality? shall i just ignore the Quality Figure ?

The quality score is based only on the maximum PIF value, so your 4 PIF maximum gives a 90% Quality score.
(Except for drives capable of reporting POF, where any POF > 0 will give a 0% QS).

Your quality scan is good, but no quality scan is complete without a Read Transfer Test. If a Read Transfer Test is smooth, I’d clasify this as a good result.

is that done with the “benchmark” tab ?

That scan is a good one, as Drage said :iagree:…and yes, you can choose Transfer Rate Test from the “Run Test” drop down menu, while you have the Benchmark tab open :slight_smile:

Yes.

You want a Read Transfer test that looks smooth like this:

Just curiosity, but when you run a quality test with an NEC are you supposed to use it at 8x? I seem to remember 5x was the standard around here for NEC’s, but I could be wrong—this is just off the top of my head.

I seem to remember that too, but then I never used my NEC for DVD scanning. I just saw loads of 5x scans in the NEC forum :slight_smile:

IMO deciding on a “standard” scanning speed for NEC drives is a futile excercise, because every NEC drive has a mind of it’s own about which scanning speeds produce sane results; for many drives there are no such scanning speeds.

The suggested scanning speeds in the NEC forum are 5x and 8x, but with my NEC 4551 the only sane scanning speeds are 12x and 1x with 5x and 8x being the absolute looniest scanning speeds.

I have read opinions that the NEC 3540 is actually the least insane NEC drive for scanning, but I don’t have a personal opinion on this as I don’t have a 3540 myself.