Is this a hardware or software problem?

vbimport

Hi! Yep, I’m a noob, so I might be in the wrong place but the question is rather basic (I hope).

I have a LG GCC-4520B DVD/CD combo. All of a sudden it seemed to freeze - wouldn’t open/close, the computer doesn’t recognize when a CD is in it. I’ve been able to open it using the pinhole access (which freezes too sometimes) but still can’t get the computer to recognize that there’s anything in there, though it does see that there is a DVD/CD reader. If you press the button on it the green light lights up but that’s the only activity.

I’ve looked to see if there are any other drivers that might be downloadable but haven’t been able to find anything.

So my question is: does this sound like a mechanical problem and the DVD has to be replaced or does this sound like a software problem and I just need to get a new driver or something?

TIA for any help you can give!

Teri

Hi and be welcome!

As always, it’s hard to tell wether this is a hardware or a software problem. Did you try different discs in the drive? And did you try diffent types of discs in the drive? If possible, try a CDROM, a DVDROM etc. Also, try to use your drive outside of Windows (e.g. try to boot the Windows setup CDROM). And of course, let us know what happens.

I’m sorry I can’t give you a real answer. It could well be that your drive is failing, but it could just as well be a software problem. By testing what I wrote above, we can exclude a few things.

Good luck and report back :slight_smile:

First thing I would try, is going to Control Panel/System/Devices, and delete/remove the device. Reboot your computer and make sure it is detected, and then try again.