Is there such a thing as a perfect copy?

Hi there,
I’m quite new to all this, but have done quite a bit of reading recently. I’ve used CloneDVD with a NEC AD-5170A drive (capable of 8x speed with DL discs) to make a copy of a film on a Verbatim DVD+R DL (Singapore, ID:MKM 001) at 2.4x (certified speed). When I checked this with Nero CD-DVD Speed the Read test at maximum speed was 100% good, but the C1/C2-PI/PO test at 5x (recommended for my drive in the respective forum tutorial) gave a result of 97% good. I made another copy at 1x which produced a better result (98.2 good, 1,7 damaged, 0.1 bad) but still not perfect. My next move was to run the tests on the actual, brand new, original disc, as well as on a couple of older original ones, none of which produced a reading of more than 98.7% good either. Finally, I checked every disc again using VSO Inspector (both surface scan and file test) which gave a result of 100% good for all. So, what I’d really like to know is:

Is Nero CD-DVD Speed too ‘sensitive’, VSO Inspector too ‘insensitive’ or, perhaps, there isn’t such a thing as a perfect copy (or original) and I should be happy every time I get a reading above 98% or even lower with the former program?

Thanks

Welcome to the forum :slight_smile:

If all files can be read without problems, then the copy is perfect.

There is a thing that many people doesn’t take in consideration: [B]all discs contains errors[/B], also pressed ones (i.e. the originals). But drives are able to correct these errors at two levels: hardware (embedded on the drive itself) and software (the player you are using to watch a movie for example).

The only thing that CD-DVD Speed does is to count errors on a disc and display them in a graphical way to have an idea of how good the burn was executed.

Even if a disc contains some errors, if data are still readable then data integrity is preserved and the copy is reliable.