Is There A Way To Edit Out Commercials?

vbimport

I have a DVR for OTA TV to record. I have to use a USB flash drive for storage. Is there a way to edit out all the commercials with my computer?:confused:

Thanks for reading my post. :flower:

What format are they in? If you are recording as mpeg files, then the best solution I know of is a commercial program called VideoRedo.

Oh wow … I wouldn’t know what format it is in.:disagree: I’m new to all this. How can I find out?:confused:

The extension of the file will provide some clues to begin with, but you should get a program called MediaInfo. It is free to use.

I use the installed, 64 bit version. Start up MediaInfo and you should see a window for Preferences. I set Output Format to Tree normally, though the Text view can also work. Make sure there is a check mark in the box for Explorer extension. Click Ok and close the main window in MediaInfo.

Now you should be able to right click on any media file and have an option to use MediaInfo to get an analysis of the file, showing the codecs used within it.

Copy the results and paste them in this thread.

Okay it’s a .mts file … is there a good free software I can use to edit out the commercials so I can watch the shows commercial free? Thanks for reading my post.

Hard to know what codecs are used without a MediaInfo report. An .mts file is just a container, and there are many different audio and video codecs that could be inside there.

You could try AviDemux, though I always found it buggy and a pain to use for cutting. And there is VidCutter, which is a simple cross platform video editor, but no guarantees with either of these.