Is something wrong with my LG GSA-4163B?

vbimport

Hi i just got my GSA-4163B and this is the first DVD writer that i own.
I burned a DVD+R (Mitsubishi 4X MCC002) with about 4 GB of data.

Wanting to try out whether this DVD was compatible with my drive i tried to run a disc quality test on Nero CD-DVD Speed ver 3.61. Unfortunately the start button was greyed out and i tried unchecking/checking some functions but to no avail. The same goes for all my other tests in the “Extra” tab. in other words i can’t run the overburning test, scandisc and disc quality test.

I can only do the default tests and not the extra tests. So can anyone here please guide me on this? I am quite new to this and sorry for asking such a question on my first post already.

Thanks in advance for all the help.

P/s the firmware version for the drive is A101 and using windows XP. I also have DMA enabled for the drive.

LG drives can’t perform such tests
You’ll need a drive able to do PI/PO error test such as Liteon, Benq or Plextor

A.

Just look at what andreapappy has. :wink:

NEC ND3500AG ( 2.18 )
LG GSA-4163B ( A101 )
BENQ DW1620 ( B7P9 )
LITEON SOHW-1633@1653 ( CS09 )

Having four different 16x DVD writers is a good thing. :slight_smile:

I have:

LG GSA-5163D
BenQ DW1620 (Nu-tech OEM, made by BenQ in China)
Lite-On SOHW-1613S (CS09 firmware)
Pioneer DVR-108 (A08 OEM)
TSST TS-H552B

Still no Plextor PX-716A and no NEC ND-35x0.

Among those, I use LG and Pioneer for writing. BenQ and Lite-On for scanning. TS-H552B… hmm… virtually no use.

Ah ic. Thanx again for ur replies. Get 4 burners :eek:

Couldn’t afford that many writers currently so i guess i have to stick with LG. Any other methods to test for quality without having to buy another DVD writer like Benq to test? If there is one i would be grateful :slight_smile:

Well, you can perform the transfer rate test, ie Can you read back your recently burned data?
At least it’s the more important test :wink: