Is Nero needed?

vbimport

This is going to be an odd question to some of you and I know that at the end it’s probably going to be more about preference more then anything.

So with that…

For my burner which I finally got to work :slight_smile: , I’m wondering if Nero is really needed. I am using Shrink and Decrypter for my dvd rip/recordings.
I’m using Windows Media Player 10 for my audio cd rip/burns.
So really, I don’t need Nero then if all these other bases are covered, right?
I’m still a newbie so burning dvds is still foreign to me.
The only thing I can think of for keeping Nero would be for maybe mpegs and home video?
Again, being a newbie I’m not sure if you can burn home movies or mpegs with decrypter. And if you can, I wouldn’t know where to begin ;).

Any thoughts?
I know a lot is preference of one software to another but I guess I was just curious as to what others thought to my question.

Thanks
Rafael

Depends. You can use other programs similar to Nero for those applications that you mentioned. Personally I don’t touch Nero since I have had nothing but rotten luck with their software. I have used RNM (which is an outdated program) and the newer Prassi ONES. If you have already got Nero though and it works then keep using it. :wink:

Hey Rafael…

Do a search on threads that I’ve started. It was called VHS to DVD. (if your trying to turn VHS’s into DVD’s that is) Mike tuned me onto a nice inexpensive program on how it’s done. Lots of great info in that thread on the process.

Mark

Oh great… here I am thinking about mpegs and home movies (from my miniDV) and you have to remind me about VHS movies as well.
Sigh…

That means I’ll have to go and buy a VCR… do they still sell them? :stuck_out_tongue:

Thanks Mark.
I’ll for those threads and see what I can find.

Rafael

Yo Jedi5-