Is my 40/12/40A dying?

Hope this isn’t a total noob question, but I’ve had this drive for 2-3 years now, and it doesn’t seem to be able to burn above 8x anymore without crashing mid-burn. I’m on the latest firmware (1.06) and use WaveLab 5 for burning. Here is the error I get, whenever the drive ramps up to about 16x speed:

Extended information:
Device: Plextor CD-R PX-W4012A (F:)
MEDIUM ERROR: WRITE ERROR - RECOVERY NEEDED
F0 00 03 00 00 8F 51 0A 00 00 00 00 0C 07
2A 00 00 00 8E BB 00 00 1A 00

I can run the simulation at 40x and it works fine, but when it comes time to actually burn a disc, it crashes every time at any speed over 8x. Of course, it used to work fine at any speed. I can guarantee that it’s not a buffer underrun issue.

FWIW I just ordered the NEC 3500A from Newegg, but I’d still like to have this drive as a backup if it will still burn masters with a reasonably low BLER. Fortunately I haven’t had any rejects from the plant yet. I guess I should mention that I’m a CD mastering engineer.

Maybe it’s just a matter of cleaning something? I’ve never done any type of maintenence on the drive, but my studio is clean and relatively dust-free.

Any help would be greatly appreciated!

To sort out problems like this, you have to identify all the “delta variables” - what has changed since the last time you were able to burn OK?

New hardware drivers or new hardware recently? Are you using exactly the same media as before? Is new software resident and stealing lots of CPU cycles or IDE channel bandwidth?

The final delta variable is that the drive itself is malfunctioning and needs to be replaced.