Is macrovision "suddenly" undefeatable?!?

vbimport

To start with, someone may want to sticky this so it doesn’t get lost.

Why do I say that? Because what I am typing here is going to start biting lots of people soon.

I’ve been backing up my dvd’s for a couple of years, specifically my kid’s dvds because children don’t know how much money they cost. At any rate, I recently purchased Batman Animated Season 3 on dvd and when I attempted to back up the dvd’s I noticed something very odd.

DVDShrink, DVD-Decrypter, and SmartRipper all would consistently “extract” the movies to my hard drive, but when I attempted to burn or play the .IFO’s or .VOB’s, I would see a pop-up window telling me the media was Macrovision protected and that I did not have the media rights installed on my computer to watch the movie. When I clicked OK, the movie would play, but you could not make out anything on the screen.

I was like, WTF?!

So, I started searching the internet and at first I thought I had found my first dvd’s with the supposedly “new” Macrovision protection Ripguard. As I started investigating further, I could not find anyone reporting the same issue as mine. I did see all the hype about the “Hitch” movie, but it did not sound like the same problem I was seeing.

Then, I thought about re-ripping one of my existing DVD copies. I own Batman Animated Season 1 and Batman Animated Season 2 and had successfully made backup copies for my kids to watch. So I pulled out Season 2 and ripped one of the dvd’s again. Amazingly, when I went to play the dvd, I got the Macrovision pop-up again. This told me one very important thing, somewhere between May 2005 and July 2005, I picked up a “Windows Important Update” that circumvented the DVD ripping programs from removing Macrovision.

[b]The programs all report they are doing their job and removing the Macrovision, but in reality the Macrovision is transferred straight-across.[/b]