Is burning DVD's to play in stand alone DVD player too complicated?

vbimport

[qanda]This thread is about the HP DVD1040i. Click here to see full specs[/qanda]I don’t believe Windows Media Player is configure to burn DVD’s so what I’d like to know is which program is the best or good to use to burn DVD’s that will play in a Sony stand alone player on my TV? Also, should I be using DVD-R or DVD+R. Is burning DVD’s for playing on a stand alone complicated or is there a program that will let me just click the buttons and go?
I’m new at this and have some old home movies my sister had put to disk and would like to copy them. So far they will play on my computer, but not on the stand alone.
Thanks. :eek:

Do the original discs play in a standalone player? If so, you can just use a ImgBurn to create an image of the original disc and then burn the image onto another disc. If they don’t play in a standalone player, then let us know what format the video is currently in and we can make further suggestions.

As far as whether to use DVD+R or DVD-R, I prefer DVD+R because you can change the booktype to DVD-ROM.

Thanks AZImmortal. I’ll try that. The originals DO play in the stand alone and I saw the ImgBurn, but wasn’t sure what it was for and didn’t want to screw anything up so I didn’t use it. I was thinking it was for still pics only. I’ll try it tonight and let you know how it works out. It sounds like it may very well work.
Thanks again. :smiley:

I think [B]AZI[/B] forgot to mention not to buy cheep DVD. Good brand to start with is Verbatim, Sony, Taiyo Yuden.
Burn at speed, one step down or half than disc is rated for.

Thanks to you also, CDuncle. I’ll get a different brand next time. Right now I’m using HP Lightscribe 16X DVD-R.
Also, do the free versions of DVD compression software and decoding even work, or is this jus a way to infect computers?

I would burn HP at 8 or 12x max.
As for free encoders, they are OK, see this site.