Is 123 DVD Copy better or worse than others

Hi!,

My name is Dave Saddler and I am new to the concept of DVD burning. My first experience with burning was using Iomega’s Hot Burn software that came with my Iomega Quick Touch DVD burner. But I had a problem either with the software or the burner and Iomega sent me a new, faster burner. The first one was an 8x and this one is a 12x. I am using:
eMachince T2042
2.0 GHz Celeron Processor
40 Gig Hard Drive
640 MB RAM

Eventually I would like to upgrade my computer, but that will be later.

The Hot Burn software does not recognize the DVD ROM in my eMachine, but I just use the Iomega Quick Touch to play the disc I want to copy from.

I had tried to copy a set of three non-encryted discs of a wedding. I had no luck with the first 8x Iomega and that’s why I got the replacement. Unfortunately, while waiting for the replacement, I had to return the origianl wedding discs, so I haven’t been able to test them with the new burner.

The crazy thing with the wedding discs was that someone else copied the originals for me. But when I tried to copy the 2nd generation copies, I could only copy Discs #1 and #3, but not Disc #2. Why? I have no idea and neither did any of the tech people at Iomega.

But today I used 123 DVD Copy to make a copy of an encrypted DVD. The first time I ever did this. I made a copy of Manhunter and I have to say the results were impressive. I chose to copy just the movie and none of the extras. If you sit close to the TV, you can see some of the pixellation on the copy, but it’s really not that bad.

Are all DVD copy software results the same, or are some better than others?

Thank you,
Dave Saddler

Dave,

I’ve used both DVDXCopy and DVDXcopy express from 123. I’ve placed both those programs in the garbage.