"Invalid Field in CDB" 052400 Error When Scanning w/ Nero CD-DVD Speed / DiscSpeed

vbimport

Hello. I am new to quality scanning, and wonder if people can help me out with a problem. I burned a couple of Sony 16x DVD+Rs (Sony-D21-00), one with data (AVIs), and one with DVD-Video files. Imgburn verified all of the burns, and both discs and the files play fine in the computer. I then ran Disc Quality scans on them in Nero CD-DVD Speed. With both discs, Nero completed the scan, but at the end of the scan, I would get a “Invalid field in CDB (052400)” error. After hitting “OK”, Nero would give me the text summary and the graph results, same as usual.

I tried burning different (crap) media, GQ DVD-R (ISSM R02) with the DVD-Video files and rescanning with CD-DVD Speed: same result.

I also tried updating CD-DVD Speed to the newest DiscSpeed 4.11.2.0: same result.

I tried scanning the ISSM R02 [in KProbe for the heck of it; it scanned fine with no errors.

I’m using a Sony DVD burner. It is called a Sony DRU-120C on the box, but reports itself on the computer as DW-G120A, and Google searches reveal it as a rebadged Lite-On OEM SHM-165P6S. I have tried to update the firmware for the drive before, but Sony’s website reports no updates, and Lite-On’s software recognizes it as a Sony and refuses to update it.

I have Nero OEM Essentials installed on my computer from the CD that came with my Sony. A little while ago, Nero Express stopped being able to burn, so I switched to Imgburn, which I like better, and which I used for all of the above burns. Would my recent problems with Nero have something to do with it?

One more thing: If I check “Quick Scan” before scanning, Nero pops up the same 052400 error, and I have to keep hitting “OK” to get it to continue. This error keeps popping up every few seconds like clockwork until the scan is done.