Invalid DVD Structure - Will FAB suceed where Idle Pro fails?

I’m attempting to back up a new DVD, I’m using DVD Shrink and getting the error message “Invalid DVD Navigation Structure”. The DVD Shrink forums suggest that this is due to the encryption. They recommend several products to decrypt the DVD, including DVD Fab and DVD Region + CSS Fee.

I’ve been using DVD Idle Pro for several years, and DVD Shrink is ripping via DVD IP. It’s always been capable of ripping the most well protected discs and backing them up (I back up a lot for the holiday home and my kids movies after having had to replace several Disney titles due to Jam Finger Syndrom).

So, before I waste my money on DVD Fab Platinum, is that likely to be able to get round the encryption if DVD Idle Pro can’t?

(The disc is Hostel R2, if that makes a difference)

I hesitate to even raise this subject again, but you deserve an honest reply. Yes, it is much more likely that Platinum will be able to handle new encryption schemes because it has been updated more frequently. I think the last update for Region/CSS was October 2006, probably the same for Idle Pro. Platinum has a 30 day free trial, so you can download it and see if it works before purchasing.

See, I have the latest version of DVD Idle Pro, for which I’ve been licensed for some time. Which alleges to have Region/CSS support, so, does DVD FAB have more decryption powers than Idle Pro/Region+CSS?

It has more up-to-date decryption, which is what is needed for structure protection schemes. Don’t know if it will crack that particular disc or not, hence the free trial recommendation.:slight_smile: CSS and structure protection are entirely different creatures.

I think signals answered your question…
Last update for Fengtao’s products, other than platinum or gold (v.3.xxx) was 10/26/06. So yes, platinum is much improved as compared with other products mentioned.

Platinum is a very comprehensive and complete program, updated constantly.