Installing monitor driver

vbimport

Ok I had fried my power supply dvd drive and hard drive. I replaced them and had an old copy of Windows 98 i installed. Now here is the problem. (this fixed computer is my sons i have one also) I have a Viewsonic E70f monitor and when i installed Windows 98 the driver for it was only support for VGA and I only have 16 colours. I found the driver update on Viewsonics site but here is the next hurdle. I try to hook the computer I just fixed up to my internet connection and i put the install cd in and the computer tells me i must have a mininum resolution of 600 x 800 and 16 bit colour. Now the monitor has that ability but not without the updated driver. Now how the heck can i download and transfer the required driver or what other steps can i take?

any and all help is greatly appreciated.

could i possibly contact Viewsonic and they would dend me the disk if i explained my problem?

Hi :slight_smile:

I’m not an expert, but are you sure that you need a “monitor” driver?

Check for a driver for your graphic card instead; for what I know monitors don’t need a special driver; at least initially standard windows one should be good.

What graphic card do you have?

Not sure what kind of graphics card i have. How do I check that out?

The best way is to open the case and see.

I’m not sure how to check in win98, because I have XP.

There is something like “Device Manager” in win98?

Hi jopo71. Go to your device manager and click on Monitors and it should tell what type of monitor you have.:slight_smile:
Edit: Geno888 was faster.:stuck_out_tongue:

yes there is. in the hardware profiles there is display adapters and it says standard PCI Graphics Adapter. This system was running fine before i fried half the inside. So i should realistically be able to run 16 bit colour again right?

hi crossg … under monitors it says E70f