Installing linux on MS virtual pc 2007

vbimport

hi ,

i want to learn linux ubuntu and i have decided that i ll using it under microsoft environment … so MS virtual pc came to my mind …
since i am new to linux so i have few queries …

1. linux do not use ntfs yor fat32 …so which formatting i need to do ? (for virtual pc).

2. can i recover my space back ? :slight_smile: i mean if i decided to delete linux … can i just delete virtual pc files and that it ???

3. how linux is installed ? can any one send me guide etc ???

thanks

[QUOTE=zshan000;2510640]hi ,

i want to learn linux ubuntu and i have decided that i ll using it under microsoft environment … so MS virtual pc came to my mind …
since i am new to linux so i have few queries …

1. linux do not use ntfs yor fat32 …so which formatting i need to do ? (for virtual pc).[/quote] None, just an empty disk.
  1. can i recover my space back ? :slight_smile: i mean if i decided to delete linux … can i just delete virtual pc files and that it ???

Yep

1. how linux is installed ? can any one send me guide etc ???
    www.ubuntu.com gives you all the info and more. Basically you burn the iso on a dic and boot from that disc. Perhaps in MS Virtual PC you can even mount the ISO as a virtual bootable cdrom drive.

thanks[/QUOTE]

Hi,[QUOTE=zshan000;2510640]
i want to learn linux ubuntu and i have decided that i ll using it under microsoft environment … so MS virtual pc came to my mind … [/quote]if you want to run Linux in a virtual environment, then use VirtualBox instead. Linux support is much better.

You might also have a look at the wubi installer which is aboard on recent Ubuntu versions. You then install Ubuntu under Windows like any other Windows application. See here: http://wubi-installer.org and especially here: http://wubi-installer.org/faq.php

Much faster than Ubuntu in a virtual machine, but you need to reboot to switch to Ubuntu.

Michael

thanks very much guys :slight_smile: