Improved movie resolution of DVD copy?

Using the CD Freaks tutorials on AnyDVD and CloneDVD, I managed to make a back up copy of Kingdon of Heaven DVD (thx Mad Bob).
However, it is a big movie and in order to fit onto DVD5, the quality was reduced to 58%. DVD backup looks fine on pc screen, but to view on big screen tv it becomes obvious that some image quality has been lost. It’s difficult to say as I can’t run them side by side for comparison, but it looks as if backup has poorer contrast resolution on dark / light images.

Can anyone suggest good ways of improving image resultion in this kind of situation? (I’m new to this, so newbie-level use of jargon appreciated :smiley: )

Thanks!

If you really concern that much about quality of your burnt Video DVD then the best way to preserve the quality to burn the original disk on one to one bases that means burn the disc into Double Layer disc that way the quality remains the same as the original one.

Or split it between two DvD 5’s. But who wants to get up off the couch part way through the movie to change disk’s.

:cool: :cool:

Have you tried to backup just the movie and necessary sould track. Leaving out all the extras can make a big difference. I’ve seen DVDs that have up to four different 5 gig movies of the same movie just different angles or alternant endings. That takes a lot of compression. I use DVD Shrink with deep analysis and adaptive error compensation on smooth for anything with more than about 70% compression. It takes a bit longer but can make quite a difference IMO.

Hi, thanks for comments.

I was trying to avoid splitting onto 2 DVDs due to extreme laziness :slight_smile:
But will try the dual layer DVD approach.

Wobble - I already split off the extras and am just making a backup of movie plus audio. It is a big movie with a lot of cinematograpgy that suffers from loss of resolution (plus I am picky). I’ll try your DVD shrink suggestions and experiment a bit.

Yo-