Image file definitions

vbimport

Hello,

i have some questions about some image file types (i hope this is the right forum)

I think you know the following image types:

clone cd images (img,ccd,sub)
alcohol 120% images (mdf,mds)

So know i spend my time to google for specifications/structure defintions of these image files but without look.

So now, does somebody know where i can get some information (the support of the software said it is not for public), because i am wondering how other free tools get this working?

Thanks for help.

bye,
Oggi

I’m not an expert, but for what I know both CloneCD and Alcohol image file formats are proprietary and I don’t think that Companies will give you detailed specifications about their commercial products :wink:

If I’m not wrong, you can find detailed information only for public formats like ISO.

Yes and thats the problem and why i am wondering how other “normal people” get those functions in their free products ?

Nobody has an idea ?

These images or image files are files composed of data that has been organized within the structure of a file system. Operating systems need some kind of a file system to be able to make sense of data on a medium; to be able to read from it and write to it. Windows uses the FAT32 and NTFS file systems for hard drives. Unix and derivatives use other kinds of file systems for hard drives. The files systems that have been agreed upon by manufacturers for optical discs (CDs & DVDs) can be recognized by all these operating systems. It makes them very portable.

So you can burn data to CDs or DVDs in any form you want. But unless you organize the data into one of the agreed upon file system standards for optical discs, your operating system will not be able to recognize the data on it and you will not be able to do anything with it nor will anyone else.