I'm new to DVD burning, need help!

Ok, so I got the NEC ND-2510A and I got a few questions:

• How do I get new firmware? The website said to get the firmwares from the place you bought it from, but I got it OEM from newegg. What do I do here?

• What’s the difference between -R and +R media? Is the difference negligible?

• Now I will have 3 CD/DVD drives: The new NEC, my Lite-On 52x CDRW burner and my Lite-On 16x DVD-Rom. Would it be good to have all 3 of those drives in my computer at the same time? How would this affect system performance?

• What are some good brands of DVD media? After reading a few reviews of my drive, it said that some cheap media won’t work with the drive. How do I know what are the good brands

• What are some good deals on DVD Media? Can I get like a 20 pack for maybe $10 (Good quality media, that is).

1. Get firmware from NEC’s site, an all-in-one firmware site like http://forum.rpc1.org/portal.php , or get modified firmware like herrie’s legendary firmware for the NEC right here in the CDF forums.

2. Some people think that technical differences give DVD+R a leg up for long term growth and overall robustness of the underlying technology. For practical purposes though, use whatever works best for your drive. If you use a bitsetting utility, DVD+R is at least as compatible with standalone players as -R if not more so.

3. If you are running an SATA hard drive, then you can spread the burners out among your 2 PATA channels and have no problem. If you are using PATA hard drive(s), you should make a choice and only keep two optical drives installed; mixing a hard drive and a CD/DVD drive on the same PATA channel is asking for bad news and will negatively impact performance. If you backup copy protected PC games, you might want to keep the CDRW (Lite-Ons are some of the best for that sort of work). Otherwise, you can use the DVD-ROM as an everyday reader and save the NEC for burning duties.