I'm new, probably a stupid question-xbox dvd-r playback

vbimport

Hi,
I want to start burning backup copies of all my 3 year old’s dvd’s, because he wreaks havoc on them. We started trying today, and we can burn a copy that plays on the PC, but not in out xbox. I searched the forum for x-box related dvd-r questions, but honestly, I have no idea what anyone here is talking about. I’m completely new to all this. I don’t want to have to start buying super expensive DVR’s, because we’re looking for a cheaper alternative to buying multiple copies of every one of his DVD’s, and we generally get them on sale for ten dollars or less. That seems to be the general reccomendation for this problem. I guess I sort of (idiotically)expected it to be as easy as burning an audio cd. I used Nero 6, and checked the x-box compatibility option. I’m using an hp dvd writer dvd420i. I also ran DVD identifier, and this is what I got:

Unique Disc Identifier : [DVD+R:RICOHJPN-R03-004]

Disc & Book Type : [DVD+R] - [DVD+R]
Manufacturer Name : [Ricoh Co. Ltd.]
Manufacturer ID : [RICOHJPN]
Media Type ID : [R03]
Product Revision : [004]
Blank Disc Capacity : [2,295,104 Sectors = 4.70 GB (4.38 GiB)]
Recording Speeds : [1x-2.4x , 4x , 6x-8x , 6x-16x]

[ DVD Identifier V4.3.0 - http://DVD.Identifier.CDfreaks.com ]

Any help would be appreciated! Thanks!

Verbatim and TY discs are not that expensive, and are good quality. Tough not knowing where you are means we can’t point you to the best places to buy them.

I’m in a rural area in louisiana-all I can find at radio shack, walmart, ect is either TDK or Philips. I’m not near Baton rouge, but I guess I’ll probably have to go somewhere in that area (?)
Is it most proabably the discs, or could it be my burner?
Thanks!