I'm having a CDRW issue

Hello All

First off, I’m a newbie so this may be in the wrong place. Hi everybody!

I’m using a Memorex Ultra Speed CDRW 24x with Nero 6.0.0.9. When I use my external drive, the speed is pushed all the way to the minimum, 2x (WTF???). Strange thing is when I insert the same CDRW in my internal, the speed is set at its default (24x). So I’m not sure if this is a Nero or hardware problem.

I also tested another CDRW and get the same results.

Thanks in advance for your help!

Enternal: 40x12x40
Internal 24x10x24
Nero 6.0.0.9
Windows XP SP2

I did post this in the Nero board; I hate to double post so that post can be removed. I think it was in the wrong board…

Are you on USB 1.1 or 2.0? You’re also using an old version of Nero.

Thanks for your post!

I’m using USB 2.0. I checked the drivers for that and they are up to date. I did check for divers for the external burner but the site said the drivers were already in Windows.

Not sure about this, but is it a good idea to be using Ultra Speed media on a High Speed drive?

Thank you for your reply. Actually, I was wondering if “Ultra Speed” was just a fancy marketing term or if that meant that certain drives can’t handle it. It works find in the internal…I’m not sure.

Hmm, on the back of mine I seem to remember something like:

“Not compatable with High Speed drives”

Maybe it’s something in the firmware of that particular drive that makes it compatable, where the other one isn’t. One way to find out would be to switch the drives round (if possible) and see what happens.

Someone gave me the CDRW so I don’t have the orginal packaging in front of me.

One way to find out would be to switch the drives round (if possible) and see what happens.

I’m afraid I’m not sure what you mean. Could you elaborate please?

Don’t know if this helps any, but I have a box of Ultra-Speed Verbatim CD-RWs here. Says on the back:

“Compatible only with drives bearing the Ultra Speed CD-RW logo”.

:slight_smile: