I want to burn at least 1 dvd so i can learn

I just bought a new Sony Puter with Sonic recordnow I want to burn at least 1 dvd so i can learn BUT boy oh boy i need help.
I have downloaded dvd shrink & dvd decrypter and am still lost! what is ISO & IFO??? can someone give me baby steps on how to? PLEASE :sad:

Welcome to the forum

IFO and ISO are two different ways to write files on hard disc. DVD decrypter is able to write both type, and dvd shrink is able to read both. Anyway I suggest you to use FILE mode with dvd decrypter to rip on HD, and then import files in dvd shrink.

Guide to DVD S hrink

DVD Shrink with DVD Decrypter Guide

I am a relative old newbie and I still can’t figure out why to use DVD decrypter. DVD shrink will get the whole job done and is all that is needed, especially for a new newbie.
If using DVD shrink, I think it is pretty explanatory, just open the disk, then copy to disk. It compresses automatically.

Because:

1. shrinking from HD is faster than shrinking from dvd directly

2. dvd shrink is not able to decrypt many movies, so you MUST use dvd decrypter or another ripping software or another tool like anydvd to bypass newer protections

The esasiest way to make your first backup:

1. Check your hardware’s burning abilities (DVD-R/RW, DVD+R/RW, speed, etc.) with a software called InfoTool: www.cdspeeds2000.com
  2. Buy decent media according to the above result: TY, Fuji, Verbatim, etc.
  3. Download trial versions of AnyDVD and CloneDVD2: www.slysoft.com
  4. Install both software. Reboot.
  5. Start AnyDVD which is meant for dealing with the copy-protection, etc. of DVDs. Put in the DVD that you want to back up. Watch the fox in the taskbar, it has to grey out.
  6. Start CloneDVD2. Choose an option (easiest is DVD Copy).

Guide: http://club.cdfreaks.com/showthread.php?t=72022

And that is all. Other options are an alternative, but not easier.

jenelee