I/O device error (Sony DVD Handycam DCR-DVD92)

[qanda]This thread is about the Sony DVD Handycam DCR-DVD92. Click here to see full specs[/qanda]Every time I attempt to follow these instructions
http://www.kb.sony.com/selfservice/documentLink.do?externalId=C181515

I get a message saying the task couldn’t be completed because of
an “I/O device error.”

Here’s what happened the last time; I attempted to copy the entire
VIDEO_TS folder from the mini-disc to the harddrive. Most files made
it, but a 980,000KB VOB file resulted in the error message. Two
other VOB files – 239,000 and 144,000KB – copied. In addition, a
pair of 28KB BUP and ISO files didn’t make it, while six other
smaller files of that type didn’t.

I was able to copy and paste those small files individually, but the
large VOB got the error message.

I’m a newbie to camcording. What is going on here?

PS- same thing happens with the largest file when I use DVDdecrypter. Will try to tweak settings (per a web search) then try Nero next.

Background: Windows XP, Camera: SONY DCR DVD92, Nero 6.6.1.15, ATI
Radeon 200 Pentium® D cpu 2.80Ghz
System memory 445mb cpu 2800 mhz bus 200mhz
dvd burner drive: TSST Corp SHS182D

Disc: SONY DVD-RW AccuCORE.

Did you finalize the disk first?

The original mini-disc, that was in the camera?

Yes, I believe so. I will check.

Other files copied. Just not the one VOB, which happens to be the largest.

PS- same thing happens with the largest file when I use DVDdecrypter. Will try to tweak settings (per a web search) then try Nero next.

Hangs up in those applications. Gets to 98% and 97%, respectively.

Yes, Jethro, the disc is finalized.