I need help shrinking a file using DVDshrink

vbimport

Hello all,

I’m new to the DVDshrink program, and would like to shrink 1 VOB file (the feature presentation) down to 700mb and leave it on the hdd, to be converted to mpeg4 for play on a psp at a later date (using other software, that I know how to fully operate/use).

My question is, how do I actually go about ripping the file down to 700mb?

I’ve gone to Edit > Preferences, and changed the Target DVD size to Custom, then down to 700mb. I’ve then gone to Output Files and made sure that the split VOB files option is ticked off. But yet when ripping the feature presentation over only, it comes up in the end in a file thats just over 3.5Gb!

I must be going wrong somewhere and would greatly appreciate it if someone could walk me through it. Thanks alot,

Capt

After setting output size at 700 MB try this.

Select Re-author mode, select the title containing the segment you want to retain, drag&drop the title in the left panel, and right click on the title. Select “Start-End frames” and move slivers for start and end points. Then press the backup button.

This should work :slight_smile:

Well thanks very much for the tip geno. I’ve tried all that, setting the output size to 700mb and removing the credits at the end of the film, using the Set Start/End Frames option

but I get the Target Size Exceeded warning

with a file output size much larger than the one specified/desired - 700mb :frowning:

[I]Capt[/I]

Hey Captain,

Wouldn’t it just be alright to use DVDShrink to copy the movie to your harddrive at that 3.5GBs and then use the other program to convert to Mpg4 down to 700MBs??
Or are you trying to get the MPG4 smaller?

i have the same problem i ripped to 6gb what do i use to shrink the file now??

Jammyd

DVD Shrink , which is what this thread is about.