I know what media I want, now how do I buy it?

I am new to this strange world of cdfreaks and the idea of buying quality media. There is a piece of information I did not see in any of the FAQs: I know what media I want, now how do I buy it?

I have tried to figure this out for myself, but even with a lot of reading I have failed. If the answer is not “go read the FAQ”, I will take what information I get here and write it up into something FAQ-like.

To start, I’ll include two helpful things I have found that most people reading this probably are already aware of. First, a page at videohelp.com that lists what media corresponds to which media code; it is HERE. Secondly, I also found a very informative, and recent, thread right HERE at cdfreaks that discusses what mediacodes mean.

• [li]Question 1) As an example, I did some research, and asked a question here at cdfreaks, and I have decided I want to buy some MCC 02RG20 or MCC 03RG20 DVD-R discs. But how, exactly, do I do that? If I go to microcenter.com and look HERE at their Verbatim brand discs in the 8x speed, there are a LOT of options, including at least: “plain” in two differnent package designs, inkjet printable, “digital movie”, and LightScribe.
    [/li]
    Are these going to all be the same media code? How could I have discoverd the answer? Please note I am looking for a general answer not a specific one. (I have already found a source of the media I want.)
    [/ul][ul]
    [li]Question 2) Again as an example, at videohelp.com I can see people report that the MCC 02RG20 media code has turned up under roughly twenty different brand names. Am I correct, though, that this information is not usually useful helpful to me, as most of these brands sell a variety of media in the same packaging?
    [/li]