I have been trying for 3 days to burn a dvd with a menu, how do you do it?

vbimport

Hey Everyone,

I am very new at this downloading movies thing, I have downloaded a few movies finally!! (which by the way I am open to suggestions on the best and fastest way to get good movies) and now I am trying to BURN a dvd with a menu.

Here is the story, I got a tv series for my mom but she wants to watch it in the dvd player and tv not in the computer. I want to burn her the full season 1 (aprx 2.5GB) on a dvd with a menu for each episode…

The files are AVI… PLEASE HELP!!

Welcome to the forums burningdvd.

You should be aware that we cannot help with illegal downloads in these forums. Copyright protected material downloaded without permission of the owners falls into the illegal category, though there are some legal download sites, and some (usually very old) tv series that are in public domain. Legal download sites generally require payment, like iTunes, or Amazon.com, and have restrictions on how the video can be used.

Having said that, we usually give people the benefit of a doubt. In that spirit, I’ll give you an answer. AVStoDVD and DVDFlick are two free programs that can convert avi files to dvd-video and let you make menus to select the individual episodes. Don’t try to fit more than about 2 1/2 to 3 hrs of video onto one single layer dvd though, else the quality may degrade too much. TV episodes are normally around 40-42 minutes each, so you are looking at no more than 3 or 4 episodes per disk to maintain optimal quality in the video.

Keryy56, Thank you for reply. I understand when you tell me that I need to convert the AVI to DVD, and I downloaded AVStoDVD. Now to convert a 20min avi clip to dvd was taking almost 2 hours, and I have to convert quiet a few… I am not sure if I am doing it correctly? how long is it supposed to take?